30 Day Book Meme: Day TWO

Day TWO: Your 5 least favorite books of all time.

(Otherwise known as the list of “I don’t get it.”)

This is going to be hard because I don’t finish books that I’m not enjoying anymore. So most of these are going to be school books that I HAD to finish.

1. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne.
Dimsdale is a whiny bitch. Pearl is a freaky. Hester should have told all the Puritans to screw themselves. WHY do English teachers make kids read this?

2. Moby Dick by Herman Melville
While I thank Melville, sincerely, for the phrase “I prefer not to” this freaking book is such a slog he loses any points he might have gained with me. While reading this book in high school I suffered a small psychotic break and stabbed my copy with a pen. Don’t look at me like that. The Dick had it coming!

3. Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson
Is it a rule that ALL the characters have to be awful and unlikable in Great Literature?

4. Rain God by Arturo Islas
What exactly is so brilliant and innovative in writing about a gay guy with a colonopscepy (sp?) bag? I don’t get it.

5. Sister Carrie by Theodore Dreiser
The heroine is an idiot and the book has NO POINT! None. Do. Not. Like.

Leave a Reply

