30 Day Book Meme: Day ONE

Day One: Your 10 favorite books of all time.

Oooh! I get ten! Usually I have to try and pick one so this is easy compared to that. Ok, top 10 (in no particular order):

1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman
I love Shadow SO much. He is a fantastic protagonist. I’m half scared/half excited for the potential movie adaptation.

2. Memory by Lois Mc Master Bujold
The Vorkosigan series (And Bujold in general) is brilliant. I love how incredibly her characters grow and the risks she takes with the series.

3. Virgin in the Ice by Ellis Peters
The Brother Cadfael books are an excellent mystery series with smidges of romance, action, political intrigue, and one of the most appealing protagonists ever created. If I could have a fictional dinner party I would want Cadfael at my table.

4. These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer
Heyer is stone cold brilliant. I think this book alone pretty much invented the reformed rake trope that is a such a romance cliche today. This is my favorite Heyer because I just love Justin the hero so very much. He is one of my very favorite romances heroes of all time because he’s sort of given up on himself, given up on the idea that he could ever really love someone more than he loves himself. And then along comes the heroine Leonie to prove him wrong.

5. Faking It by Jennifer Crusie
The chemistry between Davy and Tilda in this just crackles. In bed and out of it. My favorite Crusie of all time and that is saying something because all her books are greatness personified.

6. All the Weyrs of Pern by Anne McCaffrey
This was the first book I read that actually made me cry.

7. Mr. Impossible by Loretta Chase
Rupert is one of the best idiot-heroes ever.

8. The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas
I’m not gonna lie…I wrote Three Musketeers fanfic when I was a kid. I had a thing for D’Artagnan. Then, as I got older, I had a thing for Athos. So broody. Yum.

9. Mara: Daughter of the Nile by Eloise Jarvis McGraw
A classic. Great political intrigue and a really effective romance that still manages to stay PG.

10. Again by Kathleen Gilles Seidel
Seidel is someone I wish got more love in the romance community. Her characters are all so different from each other and yet they all come alive so vibrantly. They behave realistically. She’s also fantastic at world-building, which is a weird thing to say about someone who writes contemporary romances, but she draws the worlds of her protags so vividly, so beautifully. Again is my favorite because it features a Regency soap opera, and takes advantage of all the opportunities such a premise presents for making romance novel in-jokes for fans of the Regency.

It should be noted that each and every author on this list is brilliant and has a wonderful canon of work which I also adore. In some cases it was a bit of a Sophy’s Choice deciding which of their books I liked best.

Leave a Reply

