The 5 Things I NEVER Want to Do

So, over at Lucy March’s Blog she was talking about 5 Things She Would Never Want to Do, and reading her post I thought it was kind of an interesting topic so I decided to write my list of 5 Things I Would NEVER Do. (aka There is Not Enough Booze in the World).

The idea is not to pick totally horrible things that no one in their right mind would do, but rather to think of things that reasonable people do all the time but that no one could beg, bribe or binge drink you into doing. 

So, my five things, in no particular order, as I’m never going to do them anyway:

Eat sushi. I’m a pretty picky eater and I don’t seek out Weird Stuff to try, but I do have a rule I will try anything once if it is presented to me. The exception to this is sushi. I don’t care how many people tell me it’s delicious or if only I’d try this particular type or it’s not really that unsanitary, etc. Whatever. I don’t care. It’s raw fish. Not happening. 

Bungee-jumping, sky-diving or any variation thereof. Once in high school when I was on stage crew I climbed to the top of a very tall (+300 foot) ladder to the ceiling of our theater to help arrange lights. I made it all the way up to the top and promptly turned right around. My hands shook the whole way down and I haven’t been very fond of heights or dangling from them since. Me and heights. We don’t get along. So I won’t be jumping off any heights anytime soon. And I’m really quite happy with that.
(<—–I was more adventurous as a child I suppose. This is probably about as high as I would like to go now. ;P)


Watch Casablanca, The Poltergeist, The Godfather, ie Any movie That I Just “Have to See”. So, I’m a pretty hard core movie buff. I love them. I love watching them, dissecting them, and re-watching them some more. But I also have very strong opinions of things that I don’t ever need to see. I have an almost photographic memory, which means that if I watch a really graphic/upsetting scene I’m pretty much living with that inhabiting my back-brain for the rest of my life. There are parts from movies I probably haven’t seen in more than a decade that still upset me when I think about them. As a result, I am very careful not to watch movies with scenes that will upset me. (This is why I love movie spoiler sites). There are also some “classic” movies that I’ve watched the first 15-30 minutes, was really freaking bored and decided that life was too short to waste watching stuff I don’t enjoy just to hold onto my movie buff street cred.
 
(I’ll stick with classics like the 1980s Flash Gordon. Thank you very much.)

Sing in Public. I love singing. In the car. In the shower. While washing dishes. If you get me drunk enough I might even go karaoke-ing. I didn’t even mind being in the chorus for the musicals in high school. But I hate, absolutely HATE singing in public by myself. I don’t like my voice, I’m untrained and I tend to go flat. I did it a few times when I was younger, auditioning for parts, during a talent show type of thing at school. Nobody threw tomatoes but I feel no particular need to concur this aversion anytime soon. 

Write a Book with a Downer Ending.

(SUCH a bummer…)

I love bittersweet stuff and stuff that doesn’t necessarily end with the HEA. Titanic? Saw it like 3 times and cried every time. American Gods? Totally love it. One of my favorite books. (Ok, the ending isn’t a downer, per se, but it’s not exactly a Totally Mega-Happy Ending either). But for me I just don’t want to write that kind of stuff. I feel like real life is full of enough shitty stuff I don’t need to have really big downers in my own fictional universe. I very much believe in that quote “Every thing will be all right in the end, and if it’s not all right then it’s not the end.”

All right, your turn, what 5 things would you NEVER do?

2 thoughts on “The 5 Things I NEVER Want to Do

  1. Meg Kinch says:

    Let’s see… I really have to think about this, but here are my five.
    1. Eat raw meat. Beef tartar, tuna tartar, sashimi, sushi, anything that involves RAW meat in any form, yuck. Not going to happen, won’t touch it.

    2. Read a book with a downer ending. Thank goodness for friends and reviews that warn of a possible downer ending. For example, any of the multitude of Nicholas Sparks books that are out there, so not kewl. That man does not believe in a happy ending, therefore I will not be buying one of his books. Like you said, enough shitty stuff is out there, I rather like my happy endings thank you very much.

    3. Never, ever, ever storm chase. I have a very healthy terror of tornadoes. When I was a wee child, there was a tornado that scared the crap out of me and we had to huddle in the basement and ever since then, I don’t particularly like even thunder or lightning that much either, especially where I live. It’s in the country. While I don’t mind taking a gander out of the house to look at the sky or feel the wind blow around me before a storm, I will NEVER EVER chase down a tornado.

    4. Crap, um… there’s not much I won’t try, at least once. Opera… I will NEVER go to the opera. Just sounds like a bunch of screaming and I’d prefer not to have someone screaming at me for a couple of hours and have to dress all fancy to do it. I’m a jeans & t-shirt girl all the way.

    5. As I have drawn a blank, my last one will be wear wool. I will never wear wool. I can’t, I’m allergic. I have trouble breathing and when wrapped in the stuff, such as a blanket, my lips change to a funny shade of blue. Even if I have wool socks on (which I found out last winter), I get a bad headache and wheeze a bit before I have to take them off and distance myself. lol

    All righty… That’s all I could think of. Thanks for sharing yours! 🙂 I have to admit, I’ve never seen Casablanca myself and have no urge to watch it. As for scenes that disturb, you might want to avoid The Mist… no happy ending and is one of the most f’ed up movies I’ve ever seen. I’ve never seen the Godfather either, so you aren’t alone in that. lol 🙂

    Meg

  2. E.D. Walker says:

    Glad you liked the post, Meg, and your list is great. Storm chasing. That is another one I will have to add to my list NOT to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

