Guest Blogger- Author Interview with Raynene Burgess

Hey folks, for our Tuesday guest-blogger today we have another author interview. This time with Raynene Burgess, one of my fellow Sapphire Blue authors. She’s here to promote her new book Merry’s Go Round, an inspirational romance coming soon from Sapphire Blue.


Hello, Raynene and welcome. I’m just going to jump right in with the first question. 

So, what is the most challenging part of writing for you? Drafting? Writing? Editing?
I think editing is the hardest.  I’m a pantser, meaning I write by the “seat of my pants” as the words come. I absolutely abhor plotting! So, when it’s time to edit I cringe. Rewrites are difficult because once I put words on paper, I find it hard to take them out and rewrite something. And most often what I have to edit are emotions and feelings of my characters. And they don’t always want to talk to me during the editing stage. *mutter, mutter* Stubborn things.

What genres do you write, and why do you think you write them?
Genres I tend to write are inspirational romance and contemporary romance. With inspirational, the development of the relationship is more important; how do the characters grow as individuals? Contemporary stories can have either heavy sex scenes or not; mine are usually not heavy, since my alter ego writes those (readers, you’ll meet her in December!). And I’m currently considering trying my hand at paranormal romance, but will probably use a pen name for those.

What are some of things that have inspired your writing?
Things I’ve gone through in my own life.  I have to be careful with drawing out my heroines, because they tend to be based on my own personality and character.  It’s challenging to sit down and get to know a heroine who’s not like me and who sees things in a different light.  I also like to try and write things from history in a contemporary way, if that makes sense. It is, after all, mostly fiction with a dose of reality added.

Who’s your favorite author, and why do you love him or her so much?
I have to say that overall, my favorite authors are Nora Roberts and her pen, J.D. Robb.  Especially J.D. Robb. Her ability to create and grow her characters through 30 plus books has continually amazed me.  I can’t wait for each story to hit the bookstores.  Her plots are fabulous and keep you hooked from beginning to end. I use J.D.’s books to study narration, dialogue and movement.

Where is your favorite place to write? Why?
I have two places; one’s upstairs in my FROG (finished room over the garage) at my huge oak rolltop desk. It sits in front of a wide window and across the street is a pine forest that’s not developed (hope it never will be). The other place is my folks’ mountain cabin in Waynesville, N.C. on the huge back porch that looks out over towering pines, oaks, maples, and other trees.  In the summer, I’ll go up for a few days and spend all day on that porch writing and thinking. The birds sing, squirrels chipper and scamper in the fallen leaves and the wind blows through the trees and it sounds like a symphony. Talk about inspiration!

Tell me a little about your latest release. What’s it about and where can I buy it?
Merry’s Go Round will be available in mid-December from Sapphire Blue Publishers, http://www.sapphirebluepublishing.com. It’s set in Sebring, Florida, where I lived from 2000-05 with my folks before moving to Columbia, SC.  It involves carousel animals – antique carousel animals and carousels – which I’ve loved since I was a little girl. This story was easy to write as a result, since I knew the area and the carousels. Merry Anderson is an expert carousel restorationist who joins with Duncan Hawthorne to restore three antique carousels for his to-be-built amusement park, but someone is causing trouble for them and trying to stop the park’s development.  As Merry and Duncan attempt to discover who’s behind all the commotion, they discover a love that will forever grow as they walk in faith with God.

Here’s the Blurb:

Merry Anderson loves her work restoring antique carousel animals. So, when she’s approached by Duncan Hawthorne to restore three antique carousels for the amusement park he’s building in Sebring, Florida, Merry jumps at the chance. Only she didn’t count on a growing attraction to her new business partner any more than she did the mysterious “accidents” at her shop. Clearly someone doesn’t want this restoration to continue. The only question is, who?

Duncan Hawthorne builds amusement parks around the country and the world. He contracted Merry Anderson to help him because she’s the best, but he quickly finds himself attracted to not only her faith and spirit, but her womanhood as well. When they both face threats from someone who wants to prevent the park from being built, they discover that love can grow even in the most difficult of situations when God’s in control.

What’s your next project? What are you working on right now?
I’m considering going back to my first story, Second Chances (Hopeful Chances at www.publishamerica.com) and rewriting it.  It was published in 2006, way before I really honed my writing skills. I’d like to rework it and see what happens.  I’m also working on an FBI story and it’s probably gonna end up being a romantic suspense, which means my alter ego will have her name on it, but we’ll see.  And of course, I’ve got a couple of other stories started, but I usually work on the ones who have the strongest plot and with characters who just can’t wait to tell their stories!

All right, well thanks for talking with me Raynene and best of luck with everything.

Readers, if you want to know more about Raynene Burgess and her stories then you can find her at her website.

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger- Author Interview with Raynene Burgess

  1. Brit Blaise says:

    I, too, love carousel animals, or rather antique carousel animals. There was a restorationist here in the small towm where I live. She had a building where the carousel she restored was displayed and I'd heard it was well-known by enthusiasts. The building now houses a church, and I've often wondered what happened to the magnificent carousel. Congrats on your coming release. I look forward to reading it.

  2. Brit Blaise says:

    Sorry about the deleted comment…it was almost word for word what I'd left sans mistakes.:-)

Leave a Reply

