Movie Meme

Ok, so I don’t have a writerly topic for today but the sight of a blank blog post grieves me. And one of my nearest and dearest tagged me in a movie meme today so I figure I’ll post that for y’all. Movies are good fodder for conversations, right?

Here it ’tis.
The Rules: Don’t take too long to think about it. 15 films that you’ve seen that will always stick with you. Take no more than 15 minutes to decide. Tag some people to get attention. Lather Rinse Repeat. Or, y’know, just put your list into the comments here if you don’t want to meme-bomb.

Standard disclaimer: this is not necessarily a list of “favorites” or “bests.” I suspect that this meme stands a very real chance of becoming “let me recount to you my childhood favorites, with some geekery thrown in for good measure.” Oh, well can’t be helped I suppose. Also, I refuse to stick to the concise, just-the-facts-ma’am-list format. That’s not how I work, baby. So, justifications ahoy. You’ve been warned.

1. The (Original) Star Wars Trilogy
All through high-school I was a die-hard Star Wars fangirl, and, whilst I have mellowed somewhat I am still truly and deeply in love with these movies. Death Stars? Taun Tauns? Ewoks? Yes please and then some. Also, what could EVER top “I love you.” “I know.” Nothing, right? Nothing.

2. Shaun of the Dead
This movie is so fantastic because it manages to be a spoof of zombie movies and yet an actual zombie movie in its own right. It is also, I think, a zombie movie for people who don’t like zombie movies. (Like me!) Also, Simon Pegg is just all kinds of awesome.

3. Reign of Fire
I think this movie deserves a place on this list for no other reason than the scene where Quinn is hammering at rocks with his shirt off. Have you seen that part because DA-YUM. (See helpful artwork below for full effect)



4. The Mummy
Me and my Mom saw this on opening day. As we were walking out at the end we turned to each other. “Hey, that was a really great movie.” “Yeah, it was.” “Want to see it again…right now?” “YES!”

5. Psycho
I actually just watched this all the way through for the first time last week and I was surprised at how awesome I found it. Which is silly because I’m a total Hitchcock fangirl, and even though this was a departure from him it’s still not totally off the map in the Hitchcock canon.

6. Wimbledon
It’s an adorable rom-com that doesn’t get a lot of love. But it should because Paul Bettany as Peter, Peter Colt is just freaking adorable.

7. Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl
I saw this thing 9 times in the theaters. Yeah, NINE times. I didn’t have a lot to do that summer but also this movie is just pure awesome. Swashbuckling. Romance. Johnny Depp. Good dialogue. Great fight scenes. There was a reason this spawned two sequels. And, yeah, a reason I saw it NINE times.

8. Aliens
This is to me a perfect SF movie. Scary stuff happens. There’s space and robots. I am also a Ripley/Hicks shipper so that comes into play too. Say what you like about James Cameron but damn the man knows how to make a good movie.

9. Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves
There was a whole summer where me and my sister basically watched this every night. And when we weren’t watching it we were quoting it back to each other. “Crown to the man who brings me Loxley’s head! (bows) Milady.” Ah, so awesome.

10. Ladyhawke
This movie is so freaking romantic. Especially when you’re a teenage girl. And I grew up watching this so it has sentimental value. I even love the horrid Disco score. Also…Rutger Hauer is the man. ‘Nuff said.

11. Charade
The best Hitchcock movie he never made ;P. Audrey Hepburn and Cary Grant. The charm oozes off the screen. Clothes aren’t as great as How to Steal a Million, but this one has Cary Grant, and, while Peter O’Toole is awesome he just can’t beat Cary Grant as a lovable cad.

12. The Lion in Winter
We watched this every year at the end of the semester in my high school drama class. This has probably some of the best performance from some of the best actors ever. And the dialogue is fucking brilliant and imminently quotable: “We could tangle spiders in the webs you weave.”

13. Two Mules for Sister Sara
Shirley MacLaine and Clint Eastwood. Probably one of the oddest couples in movie history. And yet it really fucking works in this movie.

14. The Count of Monte Cristo with Jim Caviezel
“Because you’re the son of a clerk, and I’m not supposed to want to be you!” This movie is not good. I know this objectively. It is cheesy and overwrought and yet, and yet…I can’t stop watching it!

15. Kiss Me Kate
It already made it onto Val’s list but really this was one of the formative musicals of our youth and the first musical I ever remember seeing. Hence the repeat. Also, Howard Keel is all kinds of awesome. And, as a bonus, he looks damn sexy in Shakespearean garb. Those tights? I mean, my God.
http://www.youtube.com/v/e_ui18maOq0?fs=1&hl=en_US

3 thoughts on “Movie Meme

  1. Valerie says:

    Sweet baby monkeys, that man is sexay. (Pick a man on this list, really, any man, but I mean specifically Howard Keel)PS, I love that 1) is Star Wars and 3) is a movie which contains a SW reenactment. ;P

  2. Marianne says:

    Before I even read through your list I started mentally compiling my own and Ladyhawke was #1. Seriously. Best movie ever.

  3. @Marianne,Oh yes, I love me some Ladyhawke. 🙂

Leave a Reply

