Guest Blogger- Character Interview with Rosella Cartwright of Fallen From Disgrace

All right, folks, so I’ve decided to try something new. Guest-bloggers. Today is our inaugural guest-blog, the first test balloon, if you will. At the moment, the plan is to have these every Tuesday.

So, to ring in this new feature on the blog we have a character interview with Rosella Cartwright, heroine of Fallen From Disgrace by Mindy MacKay.

Rosella Cartwright wakes up in the hospital after a yearlong coma with no recollection of who she used to be. Her only clue is that everyone around her despises and avoids her. Then, she discovers the truth: before she was hospitalized, she was the most wanted maniac of New York’s criminal underbelly.
Disgusted by reports of her own heinous crimes, she attempts to reform herself, but her efforts are in vain as society continues to cast her out in hatred and fear. All the world seems against her until she is offered a job by Daniel Ryan, a rising executive and self-made success who hides a lifetime of inner turmoil behind a facade of cool indifference. 
Drawn to his mystery as he is by her irrepressible darkness, Rosella starts falling for Daniel, but love can’t save her from her past. A former victim of hers wants revenge, and will stop at nothing to get it. Her partners in crime want her back by their side, though she wants nothing more to do with them. And a sinister plot of her own design, buried beneath her amnesia, is, unbeknownst to her, still very much in progress. These are the monsters she will have to fight off alone, and if she doesn’t watch her step, she might not make it out alive.

Hello Rosella and welcome. Now, let’s just get right to the interview, shall we? Where were you born? Describe it for me.

According to my family, I was born on the rainiest night of the year in the smallest room of a crummy apartment building in the shoddiest part of New York City with no medical assistance whatsoever. Beautiful image, I know.
What’s your family like? What was it like growing up with them? 
My father left right after I was born, so with me, my mom, and my sister all living together and no male presence to balance us out, it could be a real horror-mone fest sometimes. Those two especially could get real emotional.
          
My sister Euphemia was always the star–top of her class and Mum’s favorite to boot. To the outside eye, I imagine it must have looked like we competed relentlessly, but really, despite her goodliness–or perhaps because of it–I had her beat from the start. She was easy to twist around my fingers, and believe you me, I never missed an opportunity. And Mum…in terms of naiveté, she could measure up to three Euphemias.
Do you work for a living? If yes, why did you choose this job? If no, how are you supporting yourself?
I currently work as an analyst in digital security, mainly because I have the degree for it and my workplace is the only place in the city that would hire me. I could make my living just as well through bribery and theft, but the point of this job is to blend in with society. It’s less about the money, really.
What is the one thing you love more than anything in the world?
 If my reputation precedes me, you probably think you already know the answer to this question: power. Money. Fear from my lessers. And sure, all those things are great, but there’s one thing I love more than any of them: solidarity. I like being around people who are like me. They’re hard to come by, but it’s worth looking for someone I can laugh at inside jokes with and look to for agreement when the rest of society condemns me as mad.
What do you like to do to blow off steam?
 Steam is no good. To blow it off is to waste energy that could be put towards more worthwhile pursuits, like getting back at the vermin who got you so mad in the first place. In lieu of acting on my rage, I try to suppress it and take a rational, calculated approach to my problems.
If you could be anyone but yourself, who would you be?
I would definitely be Ché Guevara. To be honest, I’m not perfectly clear on what he was about, but if people don’t know who you were and still wear your face on a T-shirt as a fashion statement, you must be ideologically powerful.
How did you meet your author? What is he/she like? A hard taskmaster? Neglectful? Controlling? 
Ah, I remember the day. Mindy was bored in driver’s ed and I came along to help entertain her–could it really have been that long ago? I feel like I just met her yesterday. We’d been pulling each others’ strings for quite a while before I saw so much as a scrap of text about me. Here’s what I mean when I say pulling each others’ strings: she fancies herself a real plotter. Outlines compulsively, and refers back to her pages and pages of outlines whenever she comes to a scene break. Really, though, she’s hardly in control of her own universe. Take me, for instance: I was supposed to only be a secondary character in this novel, or the principal villain at most, but I, uh…convinced her to give me a bigger part. She had my sister down as the heroine at first, too. Luckily, that didn’t put any tension on our sisterly bond…well, any ­more tension, I should say, hehe.
All right, well thank you Rosella for joining us.

Now, gentle readers, if this interview has whet your appetite for some more time with Rosella, Fallen From Disgrace by Mindy MacKay is available from Noble Romance.

And if you’d like to learn more about the author, Mindy MacKay, you can visit her at her:
Website
Twitter
Facebook
Blog

One thought on “Guest Blogger- Character Interview with Rosella Cartwright of Fallen From Disgrace

  1. What an awesome interview! That ROCKED! Happy "birthday" Rosella and congrats to your author, Mindy, on her new release – which, I might add, has a great title!

Leave a Reply

