Book Meme Redux

Well, I did this book meme almost a year ago when I was still living in SoCal and I thought it might be interesting to do it again with 99% of my books in storage.

You know I can’t resist a meme, after all, and I love books, so a BOOK meme is totally irresistible for me.

1. Tell me about the book that has been on your shelves the longest. Well, since 99% of my books are in storage at the moment this isn’t going to be very old. *just looked* Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett, I think. My friend Daroo gave it to me right after high school. 
 

2. Tell me about a book that reminds you of something specific in your life. Last year I took a Shakespeare class with Janet Adelman, one of the foremost Shakespeare scholars in the world. She died a few weeks ago. šŸ˜¦ She was an incredible teacher, and an incredible human being. It was a pleasure and an honor to have taken a class with her. She was stone cold brilliant. After the class was over I kept the Norton Edition of Shakespeare’s complete works (because it seemed a useful thing to have). And now I look at that and think how lucky I was to be part of the last class this amazing woman ever taught.

3. Tell me about a book you acquired in some interesting way. I wish I could tell some dashing story about rescuing an old paperback from the jaws of a man-eating crocodile, but truly the most interesting way I’ve acquired a book is probably from dragging through the stacks at the local used book store. The last one of those I bought was His Substitute Bride by Elizabeth Lane, a Harlequin Historical set during the San Francisco earthquake. (Which I am, coincidentally, doing a school project about).

4. Tell me about a book that has been with you to the most places. These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer. I’ve taken it on vacations, across two moves, loaned it out to my ex-boyfriend and brought it to college with me.

5. Tell me about the most recent addition to your shelves. After All These Years by Kathleen Gilles Seidel. I’ve been glomming all her books since I discovered her last year. I ordered this off Amazon and it came a few weeks ago. I haven’t read it yet because I’ve been too busy with library books and school.

*happy sigh* I love books!


Leave a Reply

