Authorial ADD

So, I am suffering from some serious Authorial ADD lately. Ever since I finished Freddy I haven’t been able to jump into the next thing. I have at least two projects so far that I’ve jumped into full force only to peter off as inspiration stutters to a halt several thousand words in (behold my WIPs word counters on the sidebar) *sigh*

It is frustrating like whoa and damn.

Of course, it’s not just committing to an idea. I’ve had a bit of a problem lately with my discipline. Sitting down and writing. I used to be so good at this. For Garwaf I cranked that mofo out and I worked on it every day. I don’t know where all that discipline went. I don’t even have to fight for computer time like did back then. I have my own shiny new laptop now, dammit! And I should be using it for more than surfing the net.

Lately, I have begun to suspect it is the pressure of writing something publishable that is paralyzing my muse. I keep starting a project, and then my enthusiasm dwindles as I constantly wonder, “Is this good enough? Cool enough? Original enough?”

I know I need to turn those thought processes off, but it is so difficult when this is something I want so very much. I know I have it in me to do this. I just need to shut my brain up and let my muse go to work.

And, dare I say it?

I think I need to just write the next book (whatever the next book is), enjoy myself while I’m working on it, and not worry about marketability until I start trying to pitch it.

Maybe it’s like that old folktale about love, as soon as you stop looking for it, you’ll find it.

Here’s hoping. 🙂

Leave a Reply

