Books books books

Friend of mine did this and you know I can’t resist a good book meme.

1) What author do you own the most books by?
*toddles off to count* It’s a tie between Georgette Heyer and Ellis Peters at 18 each (I own 40 of Shakespeare’s plays but I’m not really counting those). The Peters books are all in the Cadfael series, though, and all the Heyer’s are single titles.

2) What book do you own the most copies of?
I do this thing where I sometimes have two copies of things. One for the pretty cover and one to be a reading copy. So this is another tie, as I own two copies of each of these:
These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer

The Raider by Jude Deveraux

Antony and Cleopatra by Shakespeare

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Shakespeare.

3) Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Nope. I’m not Grammar Nazi.

4) What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Cazaril. Robinton. Cadfael. Miles Vorkosigan. Shadow from AG. Davy Dempsey. Rupert Carsington… the list goes on and on…

4a) What fictional character would you most like to be?
Hmmm… I wouldn’t mind being one of the fictional women who had a fling with Cadfael before he became a monk.

4b) What fictional character do you think most resembles you?
Well, personality wise many of the characters I write have certain similar traits. If we’re talking books written by other people… dunno. Tilda from Faking It maybe?

5) What book have you read the most times in your life?
I reread books a LOT, so there’s no single book that really stands out. My top rereads are probably American Gods, Faking It, and the Heyer ouevre. Oh, and Mary Stewart too.

6) What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
Probably Raptor Red by Robert Bakker. I had a thing for dinosaurs.

7) What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
In the interests of discretion I’m going to omit answering this question…

8) What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
Well, last year I discovered Crusie and Bujold. So, it’s a tie between Faking It and Curse of Chalion.

9) If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
Men: Curse of Chalion by Lois M. Bujold
Women: Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie

10) Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature?
Neil Gaiman? (I don’t really care.)

11) What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
Curse of Chalion OR The Dragonrider books (could I hire Pete Jackson?)

12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
Can we stop with the Twilight movies like now? Pretty please?

13) Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
I had a dream Johnny Depp was the captain of a cruise ship that was attacked by a rogue sperm whale. It was a weird dream.

14) What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
Blood Moon Over Bengal by Morag McKendrick Pippin. Total camp! And yet I love it.

15) What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
Toss up between Moby Dick and The Sound and Fury by Faulkner. God, how I loathe Faulkner.

16) What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
A Winter’s Tale at the Theatricum Botanicum. There was a man in a bear suit. It was awesome!

17) Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
What’s the matter with you? Where’s your patriotism? Jeez!

18) Roth or Updike?
Crusie?

19) David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
Eggers because he has a funny last name. 🙂

20) Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
I used to be an actor. Who do you think I’m going to pick?
*sigh* Shakespeare.

21) Austen or Eliot?
Austen all the way.

22) What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
I think I need to read more SFR (Science Fiction Romance) if I want to write it. Which I do. 😀

23) What is your favorite novel?
Curse of Chalion by Bujold at the moment, I think. But ask me again in two minutes and my answer might change.

24) Play?
A Midsummer Night’s Dream will, I think, always hold a very special place in my heart.

25) Poem?
From Fatal Interview by Edna St. Vincent Millay
XLVI
Even in the moment of our earliest kiss,
When sighed the straitened bud into the flower,
Sat the dry seed of most unwelcome this;
And that I knew, though not the day and hour.
Too season-wise am I, being country-bred,
To tilt at autumn or defy the frost:
Snuffing the chill even as my fathers did,
I say with them, “What’s out tonight is lost.”
I only hoped, with the mild hope of all
Who watch the leaf take shape upon the tree,
A fairer summer and a later fall
Than in these parts a man is apt to see,
And sunny clusters ripened for the wine:
I tell you this across the blackened vine.

26) Essay?
“The Five Things I’ve Learned About Writing Romance from TV” by Jennifer Crusie

27) Short story?
“Chivalry” by Neil Gaiman, but if novellas count then “Borders of Infinity” by Bujold.

28) Work of non-fiction?
Not really a big non-fic fan. I found Writing the Breakout Novel by literary agent Donald Maas to be very helpful…

29) Who is your favorite writer?
Bujold, Gaiman, Crusie, Heyer…I can’t pick just one.

30) Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
Gotta say Stephanie Meyer. I mean, sparkly vampires? Seriously?!

31) What is your desert island book?
Just one? Haha. It is to laugh! I could totally grab at least 3!
1. American Gods by Neil Gaiman
2. Faking It by Jennifer Crusie
3. Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold

32) And… what are you reading right now?
Re-reading Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase. But now I’m past the part where Jess shoots Dain I can feel my interest waning. The book, excellent as it is, loses steam once Jess and Dain get married. 😦

2 thoughts on “Books books books

  1. Eva Ulian says:

    Congratulations on winning the Agent for a Day contest!!!!

  2. Hey Moth,Just wanted to let you know my debut historical PASSIONATE is a Victorian era romance set partially in Tunisia! You’d mentioned the Mediterranean over at DA so I thought I’d let you know about this unusual setting. And the second novel (out in November) opens on Crete. Ahh, sunshine and olives…

Leave a Reply

