Book Meme

1. Tell me about the book that has been on your shelves the longest. Hmmm. I know I have old picture books from when I was a baby in storage in our garage but actually ON my shelves?… *goes to look* I think it’s a tie between Raptor Red by Robert Bakker and The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle. I think I’ve had both since fifth grade or so.

2. Tell me about a book that reminds you of something specific in your life. I have a playbook for The Desert Song. A really, really old musical. It’s my mom’s favorite, and she’s only ever been able to see it performed live three times in her whole life. It’s got a soft spot in her heart because my grandpa (who was an amateur opera singer) performed it when he was in high school. He used to sing her the songs and play her the Mario Lanza records when she was a kid. I look at that playbook and remember when I found it and one other copy in Samuel French’s in Hollywood and then triumphantly presented one to my mom for her birthday, and kept one for myself. I look at that beat-up old playbook and remember when I discovered there was a production of The Desert Song in San Diego. My and my boyfriend drove two hours each way and took my mom to see the show. Twice. And she was grinning fit to split her face through the whole show. Both times. 😀

3. Tell me about a book you acquired in some interesting way. Another playbook. In middle school my favorite Drama teacher was leaving in the middle of the semester. She had a massive collection of playbooks that we would borrow and then do play reports on for credit. I borrowed one and then didn’t return it before she left. The playbooks went to the school. I didn’t much like her successor so I just…never returned the playbook. Gingerbread Lady by Neil Simon. I look at that play and remember my favorite teacher ever.

4. Tell me about a book that has been with you to the most places. These Old Shades by Georgette Heyer. I’ve taken it on vacations, across two moves, and loaned it out to my boyfriend.

5. Tell me about the most recent addition to your shelves. This past Friday I bought the new category by Sarah Mayberry… *scampers to look at the title* She’s Got It Bad by Sarah Mayberry. I’ve been on a little Mayberry kick ever since I read Anything For You, which is a best friends to lovers book. I really loved that one and I’ve bought 3 others of hers since. They were all used copies, though, and I thought it was about time I supported the poor woman with some royalties. And here’s the excerpt off the back:

Twelve years ago Zoe Ford let Liam Masters break her heart. But now? There’s not a chance. Zoe is as tough and wild as they come. So when Liam shows up at her tattoo parlor, she’s more than ready to take him on again. That’s not going to be a hardship, since he’s hotter than he ever was.


This time she’s staying in charge. And she’s not going to consider their score settled until he’s hot, bothered and begging for more! Then she’ll move on as callously as he left her. Unless all that deliciously bad sex is just too good to give up…

Ah, I love books!

Leave a Reply

